Immune & defense
Thymosin Alpha-1
FOR RESEARCH PURPOSES ONLY
Also known as: Thymalfasin, Tα1, Thymosin α1
- Regulatory status
- Research only
- Evidence grade
- Anecdotal reports only
Last reviewed September 1, 2026 · 18 sources
What Thymosin Alpha-1 is and how it works
Thymosin Alpha-1 is a peptide of 28 amino acids. It is not a designed molecule: it is the first 28 residues of prothymosin alpha, a much larger protein involved in chromatin remodelling, released by a lysosomal asparaginyl endopeptidase identified as mammalian legumain, which cleaves the Asn28–Gly29 bond. That paper matters because it settled an old argument. The peptide had been assumed to be an artefact of the way thymic extracts were prepared, and the finding that it is the main product detected in vivo, free in the cytosol at concentrations similar to the parent protein, established that the body makes it.[3] The material used in clinical trials is a synthetic copy, and its international non-proprietary name is thymalfasin; a randomized Japanese trial report gives the same 28-amino-acid description of the substance it administered.[6]
This is not TB-500, and it is not Thymosin Beta-4. The confusion is historical rather than careless. Both molecules were pulled out of the same crude preparation — "thymosin fraction 5", a mixture of polypeptides — and thymosin alpha 1, polypeptide beta 1 and thymosin beta 4 were each isolated from it and tested separately. A review of that history is blunt about what followed: none of the isolated peptides turned out to be a thymic hormone, polypeptide beta 1 is truncated ubiquitin, and thymosin beta 4 is the main intracellular G-actin-sequestering peptide of most vertebrate cells rather than an immune signal.[8] Thymosin beta 4 and its fragment TB-500 have their own page on this site, their own separate literature and, as the regulatory section below records, their own separate entry in FDA's own compounding documents. None of that evidence is evidence about this peptide, and there is no "thymosin class effect" that would let a result travel between them in either direction. Thymalin — a different thymus-derived preparation with a literature of its own — is not thymalfasin either, and neither are thymopentin, thymulin or thymic humoral factor.
The proposed mechanism is immunomodulation through dendritic cells. In mice and in culture the peptide induced maturation and interleukin-12 production by fungus-pulsed dendritic cells through a p38/NF-κB route, signalling by way of MyD88 and distinct Toll-like receptors; in vivo it activated Th1-dependent antifungal immunity and protected transplanted mice from aspergillosis.[5] That is a mouse and cell-culture result, and the word usually attached to it — "booster" — does not survive contact with the human-cell work. In human monocyte-derived dendritic cells the same peptide raised HLA class I and II expression and IL-6, TNF-α and IL-8 secretion under viral TLR3 and TLR7/8 agonists, and under bacterial TLR2 and TLR4 stimulation and BCG infection it drastically lowered the same measurements.[11] Whatever it does, it does not do one thing.
What the research actually shows
Sepsis, where the largest trial missed. The TESTS trial randomized 1,106 adults with sepsis across 22 Chinese centres to subcutaneous peptide or placebo every 12 hours for seven days. In the 1,089-patient modified intention-to-treat analysis, 28-day all-cause mortality was 23.4% against 24.1% — hazard ratio 0.99, 95% CI 0.77 to 1.27, P=0.93 — and no secondary or safety outcome differed significantly. The authors' own conclusion is that the trial found no clear evidence that the peptide decreases 28-day all-cause mortality in adults with sepsis. Prespecified subgroup analyses showed interactions by age and by diabetes, and a subgroup interaction in a trial whose primary endpoint was not met is a hypothesis, not a finding.[17] The earlier ETASS trial randomized 361 patients in six Chinese hospitals; 28-day mortality was 26.0% against 35.0%, but the nonstratified analysis gave P=0.062 and the relative risk of 0.74 carried a confidence interval of 0.54 to 1.02 that crossed 1. Its log-rank P of 0.049 is reported alongside, and it is not the same thing as the nonstratified result. ETASS was also single-blind and used a control group receiving conventional therapy rather than a placebo.[10] A 2025 meta-analysis of 11 randomized trials found a pooled odds ratio of 0.73 (0.59–0.90) — and then found no mortality benefit in the high-quality subgroup (0.82, 0.65–1.03) or the multicentre subgroup (0.86, 0.68–1.08), with a trial sequential analysis concluding the accrued sample is inadequate.[18]
Hepatitis B, where the results are real but small. In 98 Taiwanese patients, complete virological response at 18 months was 40.6% after a 26-week course against 9.4% in untreated controls (P=.004); the 52-week arm reached 26.5% and did not separate from control (P=.068), and response rates were similar across all three groups when first assessed at the end of therapy.[2] A 316-patient Japanese trial compared 0.8 mg against 1.6 mg for 24 weeks and found similar efficacy rates in both arms overall — while reporting that patients with advanced fibrosis achieved a significantly better response rate on 1.6 mg than on 0.8 mg, a result the authors themselves qualify as an intragroup analysis in a trial that did not stratify patients by liver biopsy.[6] A 62-patient trial run against interferon alpha cuts in both directions, and both halves belong here. Its composite complete response — ALT normalization together with loss of HBV DNA and of HBeAg — did not differ significantly between the two drugs at either timepoint: 31.0% against 45.5% at the end of treatment, and 48.3% against 27.3% after six months of follow-up, P>0.05 both times, with significance reached only against a separate historical control group. The individual endpoints ran the other way. By the end of follow-up the proportions achieving ALT normalization and negative HBV DNA were significantly higher on the peptide than on interferon alpha and than in the historical controls, at three-fold higher odds against interferon. The trial nonetheless closed with the authors writing that a response rate of 48.3% is still less ideal.[7]
Cirrhosis, where the hard endpoint missed. 690 patients with HBV-related compensated cirrhosis were randomized to entecavir with the peptide or entecavir alone for 52 weeks and followed a median 38.2 months. The primary endpoint was a composite of liver decompensation, hepatocellular carcinoma or death, and its cumulative incidence was similar between groups; virologic, serologic and biochemical responses at week 104 were similar too. The authors' closing sentence converts that into a tendency to inhibit cancer development, which is a description of a non-significant direction rather than a second result.[12] A meta-analysis of seven randomized trials in the same disease found higher response rates at 24 weeks that were no longer significantly different at 48 and 52 weeks, and recorded that every included patient came from mainland China.[13]
Hepatitis C, where monotherapy failed outright. Nineteen Italian patients were randomized double-blind to six months of peptide or placebo. There were no significant changes in mean serum ALT in either group, no patient cleared HCV-RNA, and the authors concluded that the regimen is not effective.[1] Added to interferon in 41 patients, it produced a significantly better end-of-treatment virological response (P=0.03), while the sustained biochemical and virological response six months later was not different between the groups.[4]
COVID-19, where the largest dataset points the other way. A multicentre retrospective cohort compared 306 treated patients with 1,976 untreated ones in Hubei. Every crude outcome was worse in the treated group, and after adjustment use remained associated with a higher non-recovery rate (odds ratio 1.5, 95% CI 1.1–2.1, p=0.028), rising to 5.4 (2.1–14.0) among patients admitted to intensive care.[14] A meta-analysis of eight studies reported lower mortality (risk ratio 0.59, 95% CI 0.37–0.93) with I²=84%, no difference in the need for mechanical ventilation or in hospital length of stay, and a meta-regression finding the mortality benefit significantly affected only by sample size and by sex.[16]
Vaccine response and cancer surgery, both thinner than they look. In 94 hemodialysis patients given an adjuvanted pandemic H1N1 vaccine, the report states that the CHMP licensing criteria were fully met in the two peptide groups. It does not state whether the vaccine-only group met them, and this page does not supply that half by inference. What the report does say about the vaccine-only group is that by Day 42 the decline in geometric mean haemagglutination-inhibition titre was greater in the peptide groups than in it, so whatever boost there was also faded faster.[9] A propensity-matched retrospective analysis of 468 patients after resection of solitary HBV-related hepatocellular carcinoma reported a multivariate hazard ratio of 0.308 for overall survival. That is a chart-derived comparison, and the randomized trial whose composite endpoint included hepatocellular carcinoma found no difference between groups.[15][12]
Where the evidence is weak
The claim most readers arrive with has no trial at all. A PubMed search for
(thymalfasin OR "thymosin alpha 1") AND (immunosenescence OR "immune support" OR
"immune enhancement") AND healthy on 1 September 2026 returned no records, and a
PubMed search the same day for (thymosin alpha 1 OR thymalfasin) AND (healthy
volunteers OR healthy adults) AND randomized returned three records, none of
which randomized healthy participants to the peptide — one severe-sepsis trial,
one cytokine study in chronic hepatitis B patients, and one lung-cancer
immunology paper in which healthy subjects appear only as an age-matched
comparison group. A PubMed search on the same date for (thymalfasin OR "thymosin
alpha 1") AND (long-term OR chronic administration) AND (healthy volunteers)
returned no records either. Every number on this page was generated in people
who were acutely or chronically ill.
The headline evidence is negative, and reading it any other way requires ignoring the primary endpoints. The newest and by far the largest randomized trial missed.[17] The largest hepatology trial missed on a hard clinical composite.[12] Monotherapy in hepatitis C failed outright.[1] The sepsis meta-analysis that reports a pooled benefit loses it in exactly the subgroups built to be more trustworthy.[18] A page that assembled these same sources and came out enthusiastic would have misread them.
The trial base is geographically and institutionally concentrated. The phase 3 sepsis trial ran across 22 centres in China;[17] its predecessor across six Chinese teaching hospitals;[10] the retrospective COVID cohort across five hospitals in Hubei province;[14] and the meta-analysis of cirrhosis trials records in its own abstract that every included patient came from mainland China.[13] The dose-comparison trial studied Japanese patients[6] and the two small hepatitis C trials Italian ones.[1][4] None of the eighteen sources cited on this page reports a trial conducted in North America. The 2025 sepsis meta-analysis was written by authors who also appear on the author lists of the two trials that supply most of its patients,[18][17][10] so it is not an independent appraisal of that evidence, and the phase 3 trial itself declares support from its commercial sponsor with twelve of its authors holding grants from that company.[17] The trial report also carries a published erratum.[17]
No amount is established, and the one dose-response signal on record is a qualified subgroup. The only head-to-head comparison of two amounts found similar efficacy at 0.8 mg and 1.6 mg across the trial population as a whole, and reported a significantly better response rate at 1.6 mg among the patients with advanced fibrosis — a result its own authors mark as an intragroup analysis in a trial whose patients were not stratified by liver biopsy, which makes it a hypothesis about one subgroup of hepatitis B patients rather than a dose-response curve anyone could read an amount off.[6] The phase 3 sepsis trial reports its route, its interval and its duration but no milligram figure in its abstract,[17] so the largest exposure on record cannot be expressed as an amount here at all. Neither figure was administered to a healthy person.
Safety data exist only as a by-product of efficacy trials. A PubMed search
for (thymalfasin[ti] OR "thymosin alpha 1"[ti] OR "thymosin alpha-1"[ti]) AND
(safety[ti] OR tolerability[ti] OR "adverse events"[ti]) on 1 September 2026
returned seven records — two retrospective oncology series, two study protocols,
one review, one randomized hepatitis B trial and one pilot study in HIV — and
none of them is a standalone safety or adverse-event study. What is known about
tolerability comes from seven-day exposures in intensive care and from 24- to
52-week courses in liver disease, monitored throughout.[17][6]
The one large dataset that looked for harm rather than benefit found an
association with worse outcomes.[14]
Why this page's compound-level grade is the lowest of the three. The badge on this page reads Anecdotal reports only, and that is not a statement that the trial base is anecdotal — it plainly is not, and the sections above describe multi-centre randomized trials of up to 1,106 patients. The compound-level grade on this site is the grade of the typical claim rather than the best one, and the typical claim here is general immune support in a healthy adult, for which the searches above returned nothing to grade. The individual claim grades in the evidence table carry the real picture: randomized human evidence in sepsis, hepatitis B, cirrhosis and hepatitis C, and the lowest grade for everything else. Where the two readings pull apart, this site grades down.[11]
Legal and regulatory status
Thymosin Alpha-1 is not approved by the FDA for any indication, and there is no approved US product containing it. That was verified at authoring time rather than recalled: Drugs@FDA returned no matches for thymalfasin, thymosin alpha-1 or Zadaxin across brand-name, generic-name and active-ingredient queries, and the approved-labeling database returned none either, while same-session control queries for somatropin, semaglutide and Ozempic returned records as expected.
A reader searching FDA's own databases will nonetheless find nine entries in the
National Drug Code directory, and it is worth saying plainly what they are.
Every one is a BULK INGREDIENT or BULK INGREDIENT FOR HUMAN PRESCRIPTION
COMPOUNDING registration for a powder, with no route of administration and no
application number — a manufacturer registering an active pharmaceutical
ingredient with the agency. It is not an approval, and it does not become one by
being on an FDA server.
Three FDA compounding documents bear on it, and they do not all say the same thing. The peptide appears in none of the three 503A bulk-drug-substance nomination categories: the 503A category list current to 14 May 2026 returns no hits for thymosin, thymalfasin or Zadaxin, while in-document controls for other substances in that file return theirs. It does appear on the equivalent 503B list — the outsourcing-facility document, updated 21 March 2025 — as Thymosin alpha-1, filed under Category 3: Bulk Drug Substances Nominated Without Adequate Support. That is a record of a nomination someone filed and of what was filed with it, not an approval, not a compounding authorization and not a safety clearance; the category name is the finding. And it appears by name on FDA's list of certain bulk drug substances for use in compounding that may present significant safety risks, current to 22 April 2026, in the table of substances nominated but withdrawn. FDA's own text there reads: compounded drugs containing thymosin-alpha-1 may pose significant risk for immunogenicity for certain routes of administration and may have complexities with regard to peptide-related impurities and API characterization, and the safety-related information is inadequate for the agency to sufficiently understand the extent of any safety issues raised by the proposed compounded drug. A withdrawn nomination flagged for safety risks is the opposite of a compounding authorization. The same table lists thymosin beta-4 fragment (LKKTETQ), also known as TB-500, as a separate substance with its own separate risk statement — a first-party confirmation, in a regulatory document, that the two are not one thing.
Orphan-drug designations are real here, and a designation is not an approval. FDA's orphan designation database was searched on 1 September 2026 and returns four designations for thymalfasin, all held by SciClone Pharmaceuticals: treatment of chronic active hepatitis B, designated 3 May 1991; treatment of DiGeorge anomaly with immune defects, 8 January 1998; treatment of hepatocellular carcinoma, 6 March 2000; and treatment of stage IIb through stage IV malignant melanoma, 13 March 2006. Each of the four carries FDA's own status line, Not FDA Approved for Orphan Indication. An orphan designation is a statement that a disease is rare, plus a package of development incentives for whoever is chasing it. It is not evidence that a drug works, it is not permission to market one, and it changes nothing about the badges on this page: thirty-five years after the first of these four designations, there is still no US approval and no approved US product. One retrieval note, because this is the kind of thing that gets miscopied: the database's product-name search path returned intermittent HTTP 503 errors on some attempts, for control terms as well as for this substance, while the sponsor-name path returned results every time and the product-name path resolved on retry. Those errors were a flaky code path, not an unavailable register, and they say nothing about the substance. Searching the same database on the same day for thymosin returns a different substance, thymosin beta 4, carrying its own separate designations under its own separate sponsor — one more first-party regulatory record that the two molecules are not interchangeable.
On approvals outside the United States, this page states what was checked and stops. Thymalfasin is very widely described online as approved in thirty or more countries under a brand name. That claim was not confirmed at any primary regulator source reachable in this session. Health Canada's Drug Product Database was queried by brand name and by active ingredient and returned verified empty results for both, while control queries in the same session returned Canadian records as expected — so for Canada this is a real negative rather than a failed lookup. Other national and regional registers were attempted and did not produce a usable answer: the European Medicines Agency's search returned HTTP 401 for the search term and for its control alike, the UK and EU medicines registers returned pages whose result lists are assembled in the browser and were empty for the control as well, and the Australian register did not respond. This page therefore says neither that the peptide is approved in thirty countries nor that it is unapproved everywhere outside the United States: the US position is verified and negative, the Canadian position is verified and negative, and the rest was not established. A journal article that mentions a brand name is not a registration record, and a marketing authorization anywhere is a fact about that jurisdiction rather than a quality signal, an endorsement, a substitute for FDA review, or a route to obtaining anything.
Anti-doping. The 2026 World Anti-Doping Agency Prohibited List, in force from 1 January 2026, was retrieved on 1 September 2026 through the US Anti-Doping Agency's prohibited-list page, which links the WADA-hosted PDF. Searching that document and the accompanying 2026 Monitoring Program for thymalfasin, thymosin alpha 1, prothymosin and Zadaxin returned no hits in either. The only thymosin named anywhere on the List is thymosin-β4 and its derivatives, given with TB-500 as the example, at section S2.3 — a different molecule, and that entry says nothing about this one. Absence from the List is never a statement that a substance is permitted. The provision that reaches an unnamed substance is S0, non-approved substances, which prohibits at all times "any pharmacological substance which is not addressed by any of the subsequent sections of the List and with no current approval by any governmental regulatory health authority for human therapeutic use". Whether that description fits thymalfasin turns on the same non-US approval question this page could not settle, so the honest statement is that S0 is the provision to read and that its trigger condition is unresolved here. Anyone competing under an anti-doping code should treat the current year's List and their own anti-doping organization as the authority.
Randomized human study of this peptide is not new — a placebo-controlled hepatitis C trial was published in 1996[1] and the largest randomized trial appeared in 2025[17] — but none of it has produced a US approval, and every one of those trials tested the peptide in a specific diagnosed illness rather than in a healthy person. What that leaves a reader with is narrow and practical: there is no US label, no approved manufacturer, no assigned indication and no regulated quality standard behind material labelled with this compound's name.
Questions to bring to a provider
This is an unusual page to bring to a clinician, because the problem is not missing evidence — it is a body of evidence that mostly reads the wrong way for the reason people ask about it. Things worth putting on the table:
- Which molecule is actually being discussed? A conversation about "thymosin" can mean this 28-residue peptide or thymosin beta-4, and the two came out of the same 1970s extract with nothing else in common.[8]
- The phase 3 trial in 1,106 patients with sepsis reported a hazard ratio of 0.99 and a P of 0.93 on its primary endpoint. What reading of that result would make the peptide worth considering anyway?[17]
- Is a diagnosed condition in play at all — chronic hepatitis B, cirrhosis, sepsis — and what does the current standard of care for it offer against a randomized comparison?[2]
- If the interest is general immune support, what measurable outcome would count as an answer, and over what period? Nothing in the published record defines one for a healthy adult.
- Does a history of autoimmune disease, active or recent infection, or malignancy change the risk picture, given that the peptide's effect on dendritic cells ran in opposite directions depending on whether the stimulus was viral or bacterial?[11]
- Most human exposure to this peptide happened alongside another drug — entecavir, interferon, standard sepsis care. What interaction questions does that raise for the medications already in use?[12]
- Under an anti-doping code, being unnamed on a list is not the same as being cleared. Who is the right body to ask about a substance that no section names explicitly, and what turns on the answer?
There is no shortage of published human data here. There is a shortage of published human data pointing the direction the marketing does, and a clinician who says so is reading the same trials this page does.
Evidence by claim
Grades describe how strong the evidence is; the line under each grade describes what kind of studies it is. How we grade evidence.
- 28-day mortality in sepsis
-
Human RCT evidence
human RCT · review
The primary endpoint was MISSED in the largest trial ever run on this peptide. Across 22 Chinese centres, 1,106 adults with sepsis were randomized and 1,089 analysed; 28-day all-cause mortality was 23.4% versus 24.1% (hazard ratio 0.99, 95% CI 0.77–1.27, P=0.93), and the authors concluded there was no clear evidence that the peptide decreases 28-day all-cause mortality. The earlier 361-patient single-blind trial reported 26.0% versus 35.0% with a nonstratified P of 0.062 and a relative risk of 0.74 whose confidence interval crossed 1. A 2025 meta-analysis of 11 randomized trials found a pooled odds ratio of 0.73 overall but no mortality benefit in either its high-quality subgroup (0.82, 0.65–1.03) or its multicentre subgroup (0.86, 0.68–1.08), and its trial sequential analysis called the accrued sample inadequate.
- Virological response in chronic hepatitis B
-
Human RCT evidence
human RCT
Randomized trials exist and their results are mixed and modest. In 98 Taiwanese patients the complete virological response at 18 months was 40.6% for a 26-week course versus 9.4% for untreated control (P=.004), while the 52-week arm reached 26.5% and did not separate from control (P=.068) — and response rates were similar across all three groups when first assessed at the end of therapy. A 316-patient Japanese trial found 0.8 mg achieved efficacy rates similar to 1.6 mg overall, with a significantly better response rate at 1.6 mg confined to patients with advanced fibrosis on an intragroup analysis its authors note was not stratified by liver biopsy. In a 62-patient trial against interferon alpha, the composite complete response — ALT normalization together with loss of HBV DNA and of HBeAg — did not differ significantly between the two drugs at either timepoint (31.0% versus 45.5% at the end of treatment, 48.3% versus 27.3% after six months of follow-up, P>0.05 for both), and reached significance only against a separate historical control group. The individual endpoints ran the other way: by the end of follow-up the proportions achieving ALT normalization and negative HBV DNA were significantly higher on the peptide than on interferon alpha, at three-fold higher odds. The same authors wrote that a 48.3% response rate is still less ideal.
- Decompensation, liver cancer or death in HBV-related compensated cirrhosis
-
Human RCT evidence
human RCT · review
The primary endpoint was MISSED in the largest hepatology trial of this peptide. 690 patients were randomized to entecavir with the peptide or entecavir alone for 52 weeks and followed a median 38.2 months; the cumulative incidence of the composite endpoint — decompensation, hepatocellular carcinoma or death — was similar between groups, as were virologic, serologic and biochemical responses at week 104. The authors then described a tendency to inhibit cancer development, which is a softening of their own reported endpoint rather than a second result. A seven-trial meta-analysis in the same disease found higher response rates at 24 weeks that were no longer significantly different at 48 and 52 weeks, and its authors noted every included patient came from mainland China.
- Chronic hepatitis C
-
Human RCT evidence
human RCT
Flatly negative as monotherapy. In a 19-patient double-blind placebo-controlled trial there were no significant changes in mean serum ALT in either group, no patient cleared HCV-RNA, and the authors concluded the regimen is not effective. Added to interferon in 41 patients, it produced a significantly better end-of-treatment virological response (P=0.03), but the sustained biochemical and virological response six months later was not different between the groups — which is the endpoint that matters in hepatitis C.
- COVID-19 outcomes
-
Anecdotal reports only
human observational · review
Contradictory, and the largest single dataset points the wrong way. A multicentre retrospective cohort of 306 treated and 1,976 untreated patients found use associated with a higher non-recovery rate after adjustment (odds ratio 1.5, 95% CI 1.1–2.1, p=0.028). A meta-analysis of eight studies reported lower mortality (risk ratio 0.59, 95% CI 0.37–0.93) but with I²=84%, no difference in the need for mechanical ventilation or in hospital length of stay, and a meta-regression showing the mortality benefit was significantly affected only by sample size and by sex — the sample-size term being the signature of a small-study effect. The grade here is deliberately the lowest of the three, because the evidence is dominated by observational data whose direction is disputed.
- Influenza vaccine response in hemodialysis patients
-
Anecdotal reports only
human observational
One pilot study, and its own numbers cut both ways. 94 hemodialysis patients in the intention-to-treat population received an adjuvanted pandemic H1N1 vaccine alone or with 3.2 mg or 6.4 mg of the peptide; the report states that the CHMP licensing criteria were fully met in both peptide groups, and says nothing either way about whether the vaccine-only group met them, so this page does not read a failure into that silence. By Day 42 the decline in geometric mean haemagglutination-inhibition titre was greater in the peptide groups than in the vaccine-only group. The report describes itself as a pilot study and does not state that participants were randomized, which is why it is graded here as it is rather than as randomized evidence.
- Survival after curative resection for hepatocellular carcinoma
-
Anecdotal reports only
human observational · human RCT
An observational result that a randomized trial in the same disease area does not support. A propensity-matched retrospective analysis of 468 patients with solitary HBV-related hepatocellular carcinoma reported better recurrence-free and overall survival with adjuvant treatment, with a multivariate hazard ratio of 0.308 for overall survival. That is a chart-derived comparison, not a randomized allocation; the 690-patient randomized trial whose composite endpoint included hepatocellular carcinoma found no difference between groups.
- General immune support in healthy adults
-
Anecdotal reports only
in vitro
This is the claim most readers arrive with and it has no trial behind it. A PubMed search for `(thymalfasin OR "thymosin alpha 1") AND (immunosenescence OR "immune support" OR "immune enhancement") AND healthy` on 1 September 2026 returned no records, and a PubMed search the same day for `(thymosin alpha 1 OR thymalfasin) AND (healthy volunteers OR healthy adults) AND randomized` returned three records, none of which randomized healthy participants to the peptide. What the mechanism literature does show is direction-dependent rather than uniformly stimulating: in human monocyte-derived dendritic cells the peptide raised responses to viral TLR agonists and drastically lowered them under bacterial TLR2 and TLR4 stimulation.
- Proposed mechanism of action
-
Animal studies only
animal · in vitro
Coherent and preclinical. In mice and in cultured cells the peptide induced maturation and interleukin-12 production by fungus-pulsed dendritic cells through a MyD88-dependent, Toll-like-receptor route, activated Th1-dependent antifungal immunity and protected transplanted mice from aspergillosis. Work in human monocyte-derived dendritic cells then found the effect ran in opposite directions depending on whether the stimulus was viral or bacterial. Separately, the peptide is a natural product of the body's own processing of prothymosin alpha rather than only a synthetic construct, which is where its name and its rationale come from.
FOR RESEARCH PURPOSES ONLY
Typical protocol range in the research
-
Adults with chronic hepatitis B in a Taiwanese randomized controlled trial of 98 patients, allocated to a 26-week course, the same course extended to 52 weeks, or an untreated control group followed for 18 months
1.6 mg subcutaneously twice weekly [2]
-
Japanese adults with chronic hepatitis B in a 316-patient randomized dose-comparison trial, in which the two monotherapy arms ran for 24 weeks and the lower arm achieved similar efficacy rates overall, while patients with advanced fibrosis showed a significantly better response rate at 1.6 mg than at 0.8 mg on the authors' own intragroup analysis of a trial that did not stratify patients by liver biopsy. The trial report's abstract gives the two amounts and the 24-week duration but states no route of administration, and its full text was not reachable in this session, so no route is attributed to this figure here.
0.8 mg or 1.6 mg [6]
-
Italian adults with chronic active hepatitis C in a 19-patient double-blind placebo-controlled trial, given for six months; the same body-surface-area figure was used in the later 41-patient Italian trial that added interferon
900 micrograms per square metre of body surface area twice weekly [1] [4]
-
Hemodialysis patients in a pilot vaccine-adjuvant study, given alongside an adjuvanted pandemic H1N1 influenza vaccine in two separate treatment groups
3.2 mg or 6.4 mg [9]
-
Adults with sepsis in the 1,106-participant phase 3 trial — the largest randomized administration of this peptide on record, and the reason the schedule appears here without a milligram figure
Subcutaneous injection every 12 hours for seven days. The trial report's abstract states the route, the interval and the duration but no milligram amount, so no amount is attributed to it here. [17]
Every figure above was administered to patients with a diagnosed illness in a named trial arm. None of them was given to a healthy adult, and no published trial establishes an amount, a schedule or a duration of this peptide for immune support in a healthy person: a PubMed search for `(thymalfasin OR "thymosin alpha 1") AND (immunosenescence OR "immune support" OR "immune enhancement") AND healthy` on 1 September 2026 returned no records. The two hepatitis B arms that were compared head to head — 0.8 mg and 1.6 mg — produced similar efficacy rates across the trial population, but the same report states that patients with advanced fibrosis achieved a significantly better response rate on 1.6 mg than on 0.8 mg, as determined by an intragroup analysis in a trial whose patients were not stratified by liver biopsy. That is a qualified subgroup signal the authors flagged themselves, not a dose-response curve: for the trial population as a whole the higher amount did not read as the stronger one, and nothing in either figure speaks to a healthy person.
Ranges are what published research reports, not a recommendation. PHL does not prescribe, and nothing here is personalized to you.
Side effects & safety signals
-
No safety signal separating the peptide from placebo in the large sepsis trials
In the 1,089-participant modified intention-to-treat analysis of the phase 3 sepsis trial, no secondary or safety outcome differed statistically significantly between the two arms; the earlier 361-patient sepsis trial recorded no serious drug-related adverse event · Reassuring within its limits and easy to over-read. Both trials ran for seven days in critically ill hospitalized adults under intensive monitoring. That is not a safety database for repeated administration to a healthy person over months.
-
Fluctuation of liver enzymes during treatment for chronic hepatitis B
The most common category of adverse drug reaction in the 316-patient Japanese dose-comparison trial, at a similar incidence in the 0.8 mg and 1.6 mg arms · The trial's authors described all adverse drug reactions as mild and attributed the enzyme movement to the immune response to treatment. That attribution is the authors' interpretation rather than a demonstrated mechanism, and a rise in liver enzymes is a finding a clinician would want to see rather than assume.
-
Local discomfort where the peptide was injected
Reported by some treated patients in the 19-patient double-blind hepatitis C trial, in which it was the only side effect reported in either arm · Minor within that trial, and the trial was small and six months long.
-
Association with worse outcomes in a retrospective COVID-19 cohort
In a multicentre cohort of 306 treated and 1,976 untreated patients, use remained associated with a higher non-recovery rate after adjustment (odds ratio 1.5, 95% CI 1.1–2.1), and more strongly among patients admitted to intensive care (odds ratio 5.4, 95% CI 2.1–14.0) · Serious if causal and unresolved either way. This is an observational study in which sicker patients were more likely to receive the peptide, so confounding by indication is the obvious competing explanation and the authors' own crude comparisons show the treated group was sicker at baseline. It is still the only large human dataset pointing in that direction, and it belongs on the page rather than in a footnote.
-
Direction-dependent effect on dendritic-cell responses
Reported consistently across the stimulation conditions of one in vitro study of human monocyte-derived dendritic cells · Not an adverse event, and a reason to distrust the word "booster". Under viral TLR3 and TLR7/8 agonists the peptide raised maturation markers and cytokine secretion; under bacterial TLR2 and TLR4 stimulation and under BCG infection it drastically lowered the same measurements. A molecule that dampens the response to a bacterial stimulus is not doing one thing to the immune system, and what it would do during an unrecognized bacterial infection has not been studied in people.
Published lists are never exhaustive, so report anything unexpected to a licensed provider.
Storage, handling & reconstitution
- Lyophilized storage
- Lyophilized peptides are conventionally kept refrigerated at 2–8 °C and protected from light, with freezing used for long-term holding. There is no FDA-approved product containing this peptide, so there is no US labeling, no assigned beyond-use date and no lot-level stability testing standing behind any storage claim about research material. This page did not retrieve labeling from any non-US regulator either, so the conventions stated here come from general lyophilized-peptide practice rather than from a document about thymalfasin.
- Reconstituted storage
- Once in solution, peptides are conventionally refrigerated at 2–8 °C, protected from light and treated as short-dated rather than indefinitely stable. No source read for this page establishes a solution shelf life for this peptide. The published trials administered it by subcutaneous injection, but their abstracts do not describe how the study supply was prepared or held.
- Reconstitution diluent
- Bacteriostatic water — sterile water preserved with 0.9% benzyl alcohol — is the conventional diluent for lyophilized research peptides. Sterile water without a preservative is used where a preservative is contraindicated and is treated as single-use.
- Reconstitution & handling
- Conventional handling only: sanitize the stopper before piercing it, add the diluent slowly down the inside wall of the vial rather than directly onto the powder, and let it dissolve on its own. Swirl gently if needed, never shake. A properly reconstituted solution is clear; anything cloudy, discolored or carrying visible particulate is discarded. PHL does not publish volume or unit calculations, because those are dosing decisions and dosing decisions belong with a licensed clinician.
- Handling notes
- A peptide of 28 amino acids is a larger and more fragile molecule than the short research peptides elsewhere in this library, and it is sometimes described as correspondingly more delicate in handling. That is a plausibility argument rather than a measurement; no comparative stability data was located for it.
The how-to guides cover the conventions behind these fields, and what the published stability data does and does not establish: Storage, Reconstitution, Handling.
Questions for your provider
Bring this page to a licensed provider. A provider can order labs, review your medications and history, and tell you whether anything here is relevant to your situation. This page can't. Peptide Health Lab does not prescribe and does not sell peptides.
Want a structured starting point for that conversation? The Stack Builder turns your goals into a research-cited outline you can review together.
Citations
18 sources · every identifier checked against PubMed
- [1] A double-blind, placebo-controlled, pilot trial of thymosin alpha 1 for the treatment of chronic hepatitis C. · Liver, 1996. Human RCT
- [2] Efficacy of thymosin alpha1 in patients with chronic hepatitis B: a randomized, controlled trial. · Hepatology, 1998. Human RCT
- [3] Prothymosin alpha is processed to thymosin alpha 1 and thymosin alpha 11 by a lysosomal asparaginyl endopeptidase. · Journal of Biological Chemistry, 2003. In vitro study
- [4] Thymosin-alpha 1 plus interferon-alpha for naive patients with chronic hepatitis C: results of a randomized controlled pilot trial. · Journal of Viral Hepatitis, 2004. Human RCT
- [5] Thymosin alpha 1 activates dendritic cells for antifungal Th1 resistance through toll-like receptor signaling. · Blood, 2004. Animal study
- [6] The efficacy and safety of thymosin alpha-1 in Japanese patients with chronic hepatitis B; results from a randomized clinical trial. · Journal of Viral Hepatitis, 2005. Human RCT
- [7] Efficacy of thymosin alpha-1 and interferon alpha in treatment of chronic viral hepatitis B: a randomized controlled study. · World Journal of Gastroenterology, 2006. Human RCT
- [8] beta-Thymosins. · Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences, 2007. Review
- [9] Thymosin-alpha 1 (Zadaxin) enhances the immunogenicity of an adjuvated pandemic H1N1v influenza vaccine (Focetria) in hemodialyzed patients: a pilot study. · Vaccine, 2012. Human observational study
- [10] The efficacy of thymosin alpha 1 for severe sepsis (ETASS): a multicenter, single-blind, randomized and controlled trial. · Critical Care, 2013. Human RCT
- [11] Dual effect of Thymosin α 1 on human monocyte-derived dendritic cell in vitro stimulated with viral and bacterial toll-like receptor agonists. · Expert Opinion on Biological Therapy, 2015. In vitro study
- [12] Combination of entecavir with thymosin alpha-1 in HBV-related compensated cirrhosis: a prospective multicenter randomized open-label study. · Expert Opinion on Biological Therapy, 2018. Human RCT
- [13] The clinical efficacy and adverse effects of Entecavir plus Thymosin alpha-1 combination therapy versus Entecavir Monotherapy in HBV-related cirrhosis: a systematic review and meta-analysis. · BMC Gastroenterology, 2020. Review
- [14] Efficacy of Thymosin Alpha 1 in the Treatment of COVID-19: A Multicenter Cohort Study. · Frontiers in Immunology, 2021. Human observational study
- [15] Thymosin alpha-1 therapy improves postoperative survival after curative resection for solitary hepatitis B virus-related hepatocellular carcinoma: A propensity score matching analysis. · Medicine (Baltimore), 2021. Human observational study
- [16] The efficacy of thymosin alpha-1 therapy in moderate to critical COVID-19 patients: a systematic review, meta-analysis, and meta-regression. · Inflammopharmacology, 2023. Review
- [17] The efficacy and safety of thymosin α1 for sepsis (TESTS): multicentre, double blinded, randomised, placebo controlled, phase 3 trial. · BMJ, 2025. Human RCT
- [18] Efficacy of thymosin α1 for sepsis: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. · Frontiers in Cellular and Infection Microbiology, 2025. Review
Before you act on any of this
This page is educational only and is not medical advice. It does not diagnose, treat, or prescribe. Review it with a licensed provider before making any health decision. Peptide Health Lab does not sell peptides.
How we grade and verify evidence · Terms of Use · Privacy Policy